Review: All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book…it starts off a little slow and then all of the sudden I felt like was punched in the face, knocked down, and then kicked in side. Wow. It’s a great wonderful tragic story. .

The Germ Magazine is a brilliant idea. It’s a great resource for Young Adults.

I am interested to see who will be playing Finch when the movie comes out. They already picked Elle Fanning for Violet.

wpid-wp-1429379201886.jpg

All the Bright Places
by Jennifer Niven

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

View all my reviews

Famous Series 1-3 by Heather Leigh

*****Warning***** 
This is NOT your typical Hollywood romance. There are NO virgins falling for actors. There are NO celebrities falling for the girl next door. What there IS, is a damaged girl who is rescued by the sexy Drew Forrester. Can they get past her secret? Or his?

Sydney Allen is trying to be your average 24 year old New Yorker. It’s hard to be average though when your mother is Evangeline Allen, an Oscar winning actress known as “America’s Sweetheart” to moviegoers across the globe. It’s even harder to be average when your dad is Reid Tannen, Hollywood Bad Boy and one of the highest paid actors in the world.

Their divorce when Sydney was 12 years old was set off by a series of haunting incidents that left Sydney scarred mentally and physically. Hollywood destroyed her parents’ marriage and almost destroyed her. She hasn’t owned a TV, read magazines or watched movies since the divorce, refusing to take part in an industry that brought her so much pain.

Now 12 years after her mother took her from LA and hid her in New York to keep her safe, no one but her best friend Leah knows who Sydney is or that her parents are famous movie stars and she’s determined to keep it that way. She guards her identity fanatically, not letting anyone get close enough to her to find out who she is.

When Sydney meets the gorgeous but mysterious Drew Forrester at a run down gym in Hell’s Kitchen, her life changes. It’s time for her to decide if he’s worth sharing her secret with, or if she’s better off being alone forever. Or maybe she’ll find out that she’s not the only one hiding something. Dating Drew, Sydney is forced to confront all of her fears at once; celebrity, fame, tabloids, stalkers. Can she survive another high profile exposure to the world?

When 24 year-old Sydney Allen fell for the sexy Drew Forrester, it threw her life into chaos.
The daughter of Hollywood royalty, Sydney had been hiding her identity from the world since her parents’ tumultuous and very public divorce when she was 12.


Dating Drew forced her back into the spotlight to face some of her old demons. Now, she has to relearn how to live with the fame that she ran from for so long. Can her relationship with Drew survive the scrutiny?


When a media scandal that spans three countries and two continents threatens to destroy them and the people they love most, Sydney needs to decide if she’s strong enough to weather the storm that comes with being famous.

Sydney Tannen has been living in denial for the last 12 years. Now that she’s making a life with Drew Forrester, hiding from her past is no longer an option.

An emotional reunion with her father brings Sydney a peaceful feeling that she hasn’t experienced in a long time. Her contentment vanishes quickly with a single phone call. When Sydney finds out that Drew is keeping something huge from her, she throws herself into work to avoid facing the problem. 

The stress of Drew’s evasiveness, combined with 12 years of carefully constructed denial, causes everything to come crashing down spectacularly. Sydney is left in a hopeless place, alone and afraid. Can she finally accept her past and face the future? Or is it easier to remain in the dark rather than get the answers she’s been avoiding?

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

girl

This books was amazing. Every review I read about it was absolutely correct. I could not wait to find out who did it! Every time you think you know who did it, you question your decision. So many possibilities. If you liked Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn or Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty you will definitely enjoy this great read.

Summary:

Three women, three men, connected through marriage or infidelity. Each is to blame for something. But only one is a killer in this nail-biting, stealthy psychological thriller about human frailty and obsession.
Just what goes on in the houses you pass by every day?
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and evening, rattling over the same junctions, flashing past the same townhouses.The train stops at the same signal every day, and she sees the same couple, breakfasting on their roof terrace. Jason and Jess, as she calls them, seem so happy. Then one day Rachel sees someone new in their garden. Soon after, Rachel sees the woman she calls Jess on the news. Jess has disappeared.
Through the ensuing police investigation, Rachel is drawn deeper into the lives of the couple she learns are really Megan and Scott Hipwell. As she befriends Scott, Rachel pieces together what really happened the day Megan disappeared. But when Megan’s body is found, Rachel finds herself the chief suspect in the case. Plunged into a world of betrayals, secrets and deceptions, Rachel must confront the facts about her own past and her own failed marriage.
A sinister and twisting story that will keep you guessing at every turn, The Girl on the Train is a high-speed chase for the truth.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published January 13th 2015 by Riverhead Hardcover (first published January 6th 2015)
original title: The Girl on the Train
ISBN 1594633665 (ISBN13: 9781594633669)